Being accused of a misdemeanor is a serious matter. Although the penalties are stiffer for felonies, a misdemeanor conviction may continue to follow you for years to come. This is why it is important to hire the right Ohio criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible after you’re accused. A lawyer can help evaluate the facts of your case while your arrest is still fresh in your mind.
There are five levels of misdemeanors in Ohio. These are classified as first, second, third, fourth degree, and minor misdemeanors. A first-degree charge is considered the most serious. Unless the statutes in Ohio specifically outline a particular sentence for a crime, then there are maximum penalties associated with the crime depending on the level.
Jail Penalties for Misdemeanors:
- Up to 180 days in jail for a first-degree misdemeanor
- Up to 90 days in jail for a second-degree misdemeanor
- Up to 60 days in jail for a third-degree misdemeanor
- Up to 30 days in jail for a fourth-degree misdemeanor
- No mandatory jail sentence for a minor misdemeanor
Fines for Misdemeanors
In addition to time in jail or other penalties, you could be responsible for paying fines if convicted of a misdemeanor. In this situation, you need to consult with an experienced lawyer right away. These fines may include:
- Up to $1,000 in fines for a first-degree misdemeanor
- Up to $750 in fines for a second-degree misdemeanor
- Up to $500 in fines for a third-degree misdemeanor
- Up to $250 in fines for a fourth-degree misdemeanor
- Up to $150 in fines for a minor misdemeanor